PIERRE, S.D.- Lake Area Technical Institute (LATI) of Watertown has been named the 2017 Governor’s Ag Ambassador Award recipient. The recognition will take place Thursday, July 13, at the annual Governor’s Agricultural Summit in Aberdeen. Founded in 1965 LATI, was the first technical school in South Dakota. Currently, LATI has 29 programs with over 2,000 students and over 20,000 graduates. LATI’s Agriculture Program is one of the top programs on its campus with over 300 students enrolled. Over the past decade, LATI’s Agriculture Program has added Commodity Merchandising, Precision Technology and Environmental Technology to its curriculum. Along with the added curriculum, LATI also constructed the 70,000 square foot facility Agriculture and Environment Center which provides program options such as Ranch Management, Equine Management, Swine Management, Ag Aviation and General Agriculture.

Jim Clendenin, (Clen-den-in) Ag Department Supervisor accepted the award at the Governor’s Ag Summit in Aberdeen.  He says there are several factors that have contributed to their success.

He says the hands-on learning Lake Area can provide students also sets them apart.

And Clendenin says agriculture is the hot job market right now, but they have always had high placement of their graduates.

The school has 300 students and 10 ag program areas.



Key Achievements of the Ag Ambassador:

*Provides visionary leadership to South Dakota’s agricultural industry.

*Champions growth and prosperity of the state’s number one industry.

*Advocates for agricultural and responsible stewardship of livestock and land; and highlights the significance of South Dakota agriculture to our global food system.

*Influences decision makers to develop and implement sound agricultural policies.

Previous Ag Ambassador Award Recipients

2016- Michelle Rook Click here to view recipient’s award presentation video

2015- Dr. Bob Thaler Click here to view recipient’s award presentation video

2014- Brad Greenway, Click here to view recipient’s award presentation video

2013- Mike Held, Click here to view the recipient’s award presentation video.

2012- Jim Woster